SunWest Blog

Monthly Archives: July 2015

Did You Know? Prescott has over 800 listings in the National Register of Historic Places

In 1863, the territory of Arizona was split off from the New Mexico territory. In 1864, Prescott was founded and named the Territorial Capital of Arizona. After some debate, the town was named “Prescott” in honor of William Hickling Prescott, the author of The History of the Conquest of Mexico. Although the Capital moved to… Read more

sacred heart church prescott